Skip to content

Day 6: Saturday Night Audible

August 14, 2010

When we’re both home at the same time, my wife and I have a Saturday night tradition: Cops & America’s Most Wanted. Melissa enjoys crime & investigation and I enjoy the police procedure & technique. I don’t necessarily agree with the sensationalism and questionable production employed by AMW; sometimes it borders on the exploitative. But for my wife & I, the block is something to look forward to.

Change to Fox on the channel guide…

Our first pre-emption of the Year Without Football!!!

Luckily, we’ve got a backup plan. It’s an ongoing series titled “The ‘I Can’t Believe You Haven’t Seen This Movie Yet!’ Film Festival.” It’s basically a comprehensive group of movies that my wife really should have watched by now.

Previous entries have included The Big Lebowski, The Usual Suspects, Walk the Line and Slap Shot.

Tonight’s main feature is “Fight Club” and I’m curious to see how the first viewing of this film in a home setting changes the potential for a strong first impression. I saw the movie in theaters 11 years ago with a tight-knit group of high school friends. The narrative and twists hit a nerve with our group of anxious, pressured college-bound seniors, but does the message resonate as strongly with my 27-year old pregnant wife?

Curiosity abounds…

DR

Comments are closed.

