Skip to content

Day 10: Fark Off & Melissa’s Take on “Fight Club”

August 18, 2010

“We can all take a breather, (He Who Will Not Be Named) is returning to the Minnesota Vikings and we know this BECAUSE…”<CLICK>.

That sequence was the lead for the local sports report in California. More tedious speculative blabber on Year Without Football’s Public Enemy #4, AKA “TBD” (“To Be Determined”).  I knew it was gonna be another run-around and I quickly changed the station.  I am actively disinterested in any decision made about this matter.

I have found myself subconsciously modifying my plan to avoid football news.  I’ve stopped frequenting sites like Deadspin and Fark.com’s sports section and I’ve visited official team and league sites more.  I had hopes for Versus’ “Daily Line” but it’s not a very deep program and it’s fallen back to discussing NFL training camp previews when they’re not interviewing MMA fighters.  Fox Sports has a strong enough nightly report but it only airs once an evening; the California FSNs would rather broadcast last season’s amateur volleyball championships and state high school football playoffs.   Zzzzzzzzzz………..

FSN DID take the time out to cover yesterday’s UEFA Champions League contest between the EPL’s Tottenham Hotspur and the Swiss team BSC Young Boys.  Let’s just say that if the St. Louis Cardinals ever lost the first three games of a best-of-seven series to the 2nd place team in the Caribbean League, you’d never hear the end of it.

Forgot to mention yesterday that last week marked a minor milestone for the website: the first week with 100 total page views.  Hell, it’s a start and thanks to those who’ve clicked in.

Finally, the “Movies Melissa Should Have Seen 10 Years Ago” Film Festival continued as we got to watch Fight Club.  Her thoughts:

When I first read the movie’s synopsis, I was ready for a double-cross kind of movie where the two main characters try to outdo each other with one ultimately coming out on top.  And if you’ve seen the movie, you know that’s not what happened.  “Fight Club” kept me guessing up to the very end, and I have to say it was pretty good.   I don’t want to give anything away in case some readers haven’t seen it yet.  Let me tell you this, you’re definitely on a wild thriller of a ride.  Although the movie was a great pick, I am nervous to see what movie is next on Devin’s list of movies that I have to see.

DR

Comments are closed.

