Skip to content

Day 22: A Witty Yet Costly Slip-up

August 29, 2010

One of the ways I’ve attempted to become more engaged in following soccer is by responding directly to comments I’ll see on Facebook.  What I didn’t realize about my Facebook responses is that they tend to reveal more of my thought process than I intend.

A high school friend of mine, Roehl, is a New York Red Bull supporter based out of Japan.  He follows his club from the longitudinal opposite of their home location through various means.  Despite having three world-class designated players on the squad, they’ve been having trouble during the home stretch and Roehl has been particularly frustrated with the team’s recent string of ties and losses.  But winning cures all ills.  And his status after Red Bulls’ 2-0 win over the San Jose Earthquakes and subsequent boost in the standings reflected that:

My deepest and sincerest apologies to the citizens of Buffalo (and Toronto?  Is that appropriate?)

DR

Comments are closed.

