Skip to content

Day 27: The Kenny Powers Experience

September 3, 2010

This is a day where I’m more than happy to add a buck to the tote board.

There’s about a week until my student teaching is set to begin. Once that happens, I won’t be able to substitute and the warchest takes a small hit. Until then, I’ll take whatever gig I can.

Including middle school P.E. instructor.

I don’t take this assignment often; it’s often 1 vs. 60. Half the class has no interest in physical engagement. They don’t take it seriously to begin with.

Then again, it’s a chance to wear shorts to the job. If I owned a “55” jersey, I would definitely break it out as well.

Right after 2nd period, I noticed a message on my phone from Josh, an old friend from Northeastern. Josh followed me behind the mic for NU hockey on the student radio station after I graduated and held the path through on his way to becoming the current voice of the ECHL’s Toledo Walleye. He directed me to SI.com’s morning link dump, “Hot Clicks.” Right there, between the US Open fight and the a list of the 83 best college football bars…was A Year Without Football.

Welcome to those of you who followed the link here; be sure to check out Dan Fogarty’s interview at Sportsgrid.com for an interview with some more backstory.

As classes progressed, I began to recognize students who remembered me from some of my earliest sub jobs two years prior. We caught up on new happenings and conversation led to my project. Once you get a 7th grader to talk about their interests, it’s tough to keep the conversation on track.

I lost control of the back-and-forth as they started recalling highlights from last night’s Chargers/Niners preseason game, then heard about the Raiders’ woes, continued frustration with “TBD”, etc.

This talk with 11-12 year old fans surprisingly reflected so many discussions I’ve had about the project. It’s almost impossible to talk about avoiding football without discussing football.

But how else do you spread the word unless you tap into fans’ frustrations?

So I couldn’t avoid it today. But I’m still on board because, if the past few days are any indication, I’m not alone.

DR

One Comment
  1. Robin permalink
    September 3, 2010 10:40 PM

    You seem to have your work cut out for you. I think you should take the bucks and put em towards the babies college fund (unless he gets there on a football scholarship). One day back at school and the kids are already getting you to break your football silence. Wait til we get to the thick of the season. As I stalked your previous comments I must agree… Thanksgiving is going to be rough.

Comments are closed.

