Skip to content

Day 37: Outside Interference

September 14, 2010

Entering this project, I didn’t fret too much about Monday nights.  Many of the recent Monday Night Football contests have lost their luster since the Sunday Night game took prestige.  Mostly though, Monday nights have been reserved by previous engagements for over 15 years.

As a wrestling fan, I’m about to flash my geek card a bit here.    I go back to the days of The Ultimate Challenge, the classic confrontation between the Ultimate Warrior and Hulk Hogan to unify the Intercontinental and World titles at Wrestlemania 6, but I really didn’t click until the rise of Bret Hart in the mid-90s.  I’ve attended big WWF shows at the Nassau Coliseum and the TDBanknorth Garden, indie shows at a Staten Island skating rink and an original ECW show at the SportsFest involving a Dudley Boys-sparked riot.  I appreciated the ability on display to sway the will of a crowd with great calculation and athleticism; the dramatic aspect of the show compares to the modern equivalent of ancient Greek theater.  Needless to say, Monday nights became appointment viewing and remains one of the few on my schedule.

So I’m just fine with using WWE Raw to assist with the Year Without FootbOHFERCHRISSAKES.

OCHOCINCO’d AGAIN.

After the intial frustration set in, I shouldn’t have been surprised.  Wrestling and football have always been interlocked.  Quite a few of the all-time greats have gotten their start on the gridiron, like the Rock

Bill Goldberg

and Stone Cold Steve Austin (North Texas).  Current UFC Heavyweight champ Brock Lesnar initially quit wrestling to try out with the Minnesota Vikings.  Heck, remember what Hacksaw Jim Duggan’s finisher was?  The THREE-POINT STANCE.

I’m not even mad.  I’m impressed how well I was caught off guard.  Mostly a little miffed at those of you on the East Coast who had THREE HOURS to warn me!

Chad Ochocinco continues to plague and villainize the Year Without Football, and it’s gotten to the point where all I can do is laugh.

I hate you, Ochocinco.  You’re awesome.

DR

Comments are closed.

