Skip to content

Day 43: The Monday Experiments

September 20, 2010

I want to try something different now what we’re in the full swing of the season.

I often get asked what the difference is between the encounters with football that get posted and those that don’t.  The simplest answer is that if I attempted to post every single incident or sight of anything related to football, I’d have friends and family members placing me on spam blockers due to the inundation of updates I’d be throwing out.  I’ve become a bit selective and have leaned toward the most interesting and captivating stories gleaned from the Year Without Football.  I tend to post the most anecdotal instances.

For the first time this year, that changes.

Today will be the first of a year-long series titled  “The Monday Experiments.”  I will make the effort to post every instance of football encounters I come across up until about 8pm Pacific time.  Most teams are 2-3 weeks in and with the start of the Sunday Night games, there is apt to be talk abound.

This is also the first day of my final student-teaching placement, this time a 4th grade class to round out the credential.  It’s a great chance to track from afar as all parties involved are unaware of Year Without Football.

Not to say that people locally haven’t taken notice; about half-a-dozen people came up to me at the Lakers Affiliation Party on Thursday to mention that they saw my interview with KBAK and had to double-check to make sure that it WAS me undertaking the project.  At this location, however, I’ll be more anonymous on Day One than at any other time.

So, there.  You’ve been warned.  For the rest of the day, I’ll be updating the site upon any and all unintentional mentions or interactions and will post the final tally at 8pm Pacific.

It’s gonna be a LOOOOOONG day.

DR

Comments are closed.

